Forest Elementary PS71Q
62-85 Forest Avenue
Ridgewood, NY 11385
(718) 821-7772

Friday, April 11, 2014

Spring Break

There will be no school starting Monday, April 14, 2014 to Tuesday, April 22, 2014 for Spring Break.
School will resume on Wednesday, April 23, 2014.

Look at our April calendar for suggested learning activities for Spring Break.

Have a fun and safe Spring Break!


Monday, March 10, 2014

Parent Teacher Conferences

PS 71 will have Parent Teacher Conferences on
 Wednesday, March 12, 2014 at

12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
OR
5:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

REMINDER: Students will be dismissed at 11:20 a.m. on that day.

Click here to see the parent letter.

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Mid Winter Break

There will be no school starting Monday, February 17, 2014 to Friday, February 21, 2014 for Mid-Winter Break. 
School will resume on Monday, February 24, 2014.

Look on our February calendar for suggested learning activities for Mid- Winter Recess.

Happy President's Day! Have a safe and warm break!


Monday, February 10, 2014

February Family Movie Night

Join us for our Family Movie Night in February! Bring your child and enjoy the show!


Friday, February 28, 2014
Grades K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
6:00 p.m. 
"Monsters University"



Tuesday, January 21, 2014

No after school programs today 1/21/14

All after school activities will be cancelled today 1/21/14 due to the weather conditions. Please click on the link to see the message from the chancellor
http://schools.nyc.gov/Offices/mediarelations/NewsandSpeeches/2013-2014/Chancellor+FariƱa+Announces+Cancellation+of+Afterschool+Programs+and+PSAL+Games+Today.htm

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Family Movie Nights

We will have 2 grade specific nights for a Family Movie Night in January. Bring your child and enjoy the show!


 Friday, January 17, 2014
Grades K, 1, 2
6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
"Turbo"



Friday, January 24, 2014
Grades 3, 4, 5
6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
"Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs 2"



Friday, January 3, 2014

No school today 1/3/13

Due to severe weather conditions, all public schools will be closed on January 3rd, 2014. For additional information, please see the link below. http://schools.nyc.gov/Offices/mediarelations/NewsandSpeeches/2013-2014/Schools+Closed+1-3-14.htm

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Welcome Back!


Happy New Year! 
Forest Elementary would like to welcome everybody back. Hope everybody had a wonderful and productive holiday break. 



Monday, December 16, 2013

Winter Break

There will be no school starting Monday, December 23rd, 2013 to Wednesday, January 1st, 2014. 
School will reopen on Thursday, January 2nd, 2014. 

Don't forget to work on your Winter Packets!

Wishing everybody a wonderful Holiday Break and a 
Happy New Year from Forest Elementary!



Thursday, December 12, 2013

PA Meetings

There will be PA Meetings on Friday, December 13th, 2013.
The morning session will be 8:15 a.m.
The evening session will be 6:00 p.m.

Please come prepared with any suggestions, ideas and concerns.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Respect Rally Family Night

Please join us on Friday, December 20th, 2013 at 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. for our Respect Rally and Family Night where our Chorus Club, the "Treble Makers", will have a Winter Performance.

Come join the fun and the music before the Holidays!


Monday, December 2, 2013

Toys for Tots Toy Drive

We are collecting toys for the Toys for Tots Toy Drive. Please donate any new, unopened toys to PS 71's auditorium by Thursday, December 19th, 2013.

Help bring a smile to a child's face this Holiday Season!



Thursday, November 21, 2013

Thanksgiving Recess

There will be no school on Thursday, November 28th and Friday November 29th, 2013 for Thanksgiving Recess. School will reopen on Monday, December 2nd, 2013.


Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Family Movie Nights

We will have 2 grade specific nights for a Family Movie Night in November. Bring your child and enjoy the show!


Thursday, November 21, 2013
Grades 3,4,5
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
"The Croods"



Friday, November 22, 2013
Grades K,1,2
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
"Despicable Me 2"



Parent Workshops

PS 71 will be hosting numerous parent workshops in November. Please see the dates and timing below for the various parent workshops offered.

Citywide Standards of Intervention & Discipline Measures Workshop
Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Morning: 8:20 am - 10:20 am
OR
Evening: 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm


Aris Parent Link Workshop
Thursday, November 7, 2013
Morning: 8:20 am - 9:00 am
OR
Evening: 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm


Understanding How the I.E.P. Was Designed to Help Your Child Workshop
Friday, November 15, 2013
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Sylvan Parent Workshop Reading & Your Child

Thursday, November 21, 2013
8:30 am - 10:30 am

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Picture Day

Picture Day is almost here! PS 71 will have AMC Photos at the school to take school pictures on the following dates:

Monday, November 18th, 2013
and
Tuesday, November 19th, 2013



Please send your child dressed appropriately for the pictures.


Election Day - No School

Reminder: There will be no school on Tuesday, November 5, 2013 for Election Day. School will re-open on Wednesday, November 6, 2013.

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

PS 71 Clubs

Information about the clubs available in our school and some of the amazing things that we will be doing throughout the year are available on the bottom of the website. CHECK THEM OUT!!

Monday, October 21, 2013

School Uniforms

PS 71 is now implementing school uniforms for the students beginning November 1st, 2013. Please click the link below to see the details about the uniforms your child will be required to wear:


School Uniforms can be purchased at Happy Days which is located at 56-40 Myrtle Ave, Ridgewood, NY.

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Parent Teacher Conferences

PS 71 will have Parent Teacher Conferences on Thursday, November 14, 2013 at

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
OR
5:30 pm - 8:00 pm

REMINDER: Students will be dismissed at 11:20 am on that day.